Social Worker

Sarah Bigley

Sarah Bigley, a Social Worker within Rainbows’ Sedgwick County Infant/Toddler Services, shares below about her professional role and staff experience with Rainbows United:

I am a Social Worker.  I have always enjoyed working with children and hoped to help improve their lives in some way. 

I received my Bachelor’s Degree in Social Work from Kansas State University.  I received my Master’s Degree in Social Work from Wichita State University. I did my practicum at Rainbows in the summer of 2001, and was  hired in September of 2001. They have not been able to get rid of me since. 

I am the first contact for families. On a normal day, I go out and explain the Infant/Toddler Services program to them.  At that same appointment, I will help another staff member to complete an eligibility evaluation.  I often go out and meet with families during the course of day to talk to them about community resources and just to be an additional support for them and their therapists.

I feel like my biggest achievement at Rainbows has been being able to work with such a variety of people in so many different walks of life.  I think being able to work with team members who have different ideas and work styles has been a big accomplishment.

The flexibility and family friendly attitude that encompass Rainbows has made being a working mom so much easier.  I am able to be home with my children when they are out of school and spend more time with them during the summer months. 

There are so many different memories I have collected over the 15 years of being at Rainbows.  I think the one thing I would say about my time here is that the people I work with on a day to day basis teach me new things every day and make me laugh and smile.   Camp Woodchuck is also held at the same Rainbows’ location that I work out of.  I have enjoyed being able to see families and children I helped start in the Rainbows’ Infant/Toddler Services program initially come through Camp as they grow.

Outside of my professional life, I have a love of reading and can almost always be found with a book on hand.  I also love watching my son play baseball. I like to watch 80’s movies and have quite the catalog on hand.