Close this search box.


2017 Annual Meeting

2018 Board of Directors Announced


Wichita, Kan. – – At the 2017 Annual Meetings of the Rainbows United Board of Directors and Rainbows United Charitable Fund Board held Tuesday, December 12 Rainbows voted in a new slate of officers for 2018.

“It’s a privilege to be a part of making a difference for children with special needs and their families in our local community.  I look forward to leading the Board in 2018,” said Mr. Johnson.

2018 Board of Directors:

Gail Johnson, Chair, INTRUST Bank
Janeen Hughes, Chair – Elect, Emprise Bank
Jeff Jabara, Treasurer and Finance Chair, Community Volunteer
Lisa Farris, Secretary, Community Volunteer
Steve Cox, Board Development Chair, Cox Machine
John DeCesaro, Communications Chair, Fidelity Bank
Pat Gearhart, Fundraising Chair, Bank SNB
Gary Proffitt, Human Resources Chair, Community Volunteer
Hale Ritchie, Mission Advocacy Chair, Community Volunteer
Pete McKernan, Operations Chair, Community Volunteer
Meredith Olson, At Large, Koch Industries
Grant Stannard, At Large, Stannard Construction

Vera Bothner, Bothner & Bradley Inc.
Sue Doonan, Community Volunteer
Stephanie Galichia, Community Volunteer
Julie Gentile, Community Volunteer
Coleen Jennison, Cox Communications
Michelle Lohmeier, Spirit AeroSystems
Dan Sabol, Bank of America
Jim Walters, Textron Aviation
Dr. Josh Umbehr, Atlas MD

2018 Rainbows United, Inc., Charitable Foundation Board members:

Steve Cox, Chair, Cox Machine
Grant Stannard, Immediate Past Chair, Stannard Construction
Helen Healy, Vice Chair, Community Volunteer
Janeen Hughes, Treasurer, Emprise Bank
Stephanie Galichia, Secretary, Community Volunteer
Patricia O’Sullivan, Community Volunteer
Hale Ritchie, Community Volunteer
Steve Yeager, Community Volunteer

The event also honored long-time supporters Hampel Oil, Hampel Leasing and the entire Hampel Family with the Linda Weir Enegren Legacy Society award. This award designation honors all lifetime donors of $250,000 or more and is the highest honor we can bestow on any donor or volunteer. Over the past 10 years the Peter Hampel Luau has raised more than $336,000 for the children of Rainbows, making a difference and creating a meaningful legacy.

Members of the Technology Task Force, including Chris Farris, formerly of Cox Communications; Jason Cox, Cox Machine; Katherine Geren, Cox Communications; Wayne Huxman, High Touch Technologies; Pat Wilson and Meredith Olson, Koch Industries; Board Member, Hale Ritchie plus employees Debbie Mai, Tina Beems and Audra Kenneson were honored for their contributions to the technology project over the last three years. Textron Aviation Purchasing Specialist Kelly Graf was honored for her work in negotiating Rainbows’ Netsmart contract with significant savings to the agency.

In addition, the PRISM Award, created to honor a Rainbows’ staff member for exemplary service, was presented to Annabel Bentley, Pre-Kindergarten Teacher at Rainbows’ Kids’ Point. Annabel was honored for her determination, intuitiveness and creativity. In her teaching role, she embodies Rainbows’ guiding principles of treating children with dignity, respect and compassion; she is consistently positive, recognizes children’s success, and celebrates their achievements.

Rainbows United, Inc. served more than 3,262 children birth – 21 with special needs or at risk throughout Sedgwick and Butler Counties last year. Rainbows is dedicated to enhancing the lives of children with special needs and their families by bringing together community resources and providing customized services as they have been for the past 45 years.