Close this search box.

Annual Meeting

Rainbows United

Rainbows’ Annual Meeting was held on Tuesday, December 10 at Textron Aviation Activity Center hosted by Board of Director’s Chair Janeen Hughes and her husband Robert. Janeen shared many milestones for the past year and set the course with goals for 2020.

As part of the evening’s events Rainbows’ friend Donna Bunk was recognized for her support of the agency and her love for the children. Don Hall was recognized for his long-time relationship with the Blarney Breakfast and his passion for telling the stories of Rainbows’ children and families.

A new member to the Linda Weir Enegren Legacy Society is Wings for Dreams – Textron Aviation. The honor recognizes Textron Aviation for their leadership, positive energy, creativity, and passion for Rainbows in ushering transformative change for children with special needs through the event.

The 2019 Prism Award went to Christy Hutto, Connecting Point Program Assistant. The Prism Award honors a Rainbows’ staff member for exemplary service and demonstrating the Guiding Principles. Christy is often parents’ first contact with services for children with special needs. Christy’s dedication to Connecting Point and Rainbows has helped to raise the level of awareness of Rainbows’ services and the importance of early intervention throughout Sedgwick County.  

A special award was created to honor a group of committed, professional staff members who led the way for Rainbows into the digital age of data management. In fact, their role has been so significant that a new unique award that represents their exceptional contributions was created. Debbie Mai, Vice President of Programs and Services; Tina Beems, Management Information Systems Coordinator; Audra Kenneson, Early Childhood Mental Health and Specialized Foster Care Coordinator; Peggy Burns, Infant/Toddler Services Speech-Language Pathologist; Lindsay Coffee, Targeted Case Management and Autism Coordinator; and, Lee “Paco” Price, Infant/Toddler Services Coordinator all received the Kaleidoscope Award for their efforts of taking the many pieces of our programs and creating a sophisticated electronic record – much like a beautiful kaleidoscope makes incredible scenes out of bits of glass.

Angela Kessler, Vice President of Development was honored for her leadership of Rainbows’ fundraising efforts, her work with Wings for Dreams, and meeting the FY19 goal.

In official business, board members Michelle Lohmeier, Jim Walters, Stephanie Galichia, Gary Proffitt and Hale Ritchie were re-elected to a three-year-term. Jeff Jabara, Dr. Josh Umbehr and John DeCesaro were all honored for their contributions to the agency and completing their service as Board Members.

Grant Stannard, long-time Board member and Walt Shook, friend of Rainbows, were both remembered fondly with tributes for their love of Rainbows over many years of their involvement and support.

The slate of Board members for 2020 were voted in.
Chair: Janeen Hughes

Chair- Elect: Jim Walters

Treasurer and Finance Chair: Gail Johnson   

Secretary: Lisa Farris

Board Development Chair: Steve Cox

Communications Chair: Sherii Farmer

Fundraising Chair: Sue Doonan          

Human Resources Chair: Gary Proffitt

Mission Advocacy: Hale Ritchie

Operations Chair: Pete McKernan

Rainbows United Charitable Foundation Chair: Steve Cox


 A holiday reception followed.